Saving changes to tables

SSMS may give you this message when saving changes made via the table designer GUI:

Saving changes is not permitted. The changes you have made require the following tables to be dropped and re-created.

You have either made changes to a table that can't be re-created or enable the option Prevent saving changes that require the table to be re-created.

By default this is not enabled, to prevent you from accidentally dropping tables, but if you're sure you want it enabled, here's how:

  1. Select Tools → Options → Designers → Table and Database designers
  2. Untick 'Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation'
  3. Click 'OK'